← Back to All Teams

Lake Shore Lynx


Since the Lake Shore Lynx’s humble beginnings in the minds of team founders Mike Johnson and Bryan McDermott, the team has been synonymous with the GFL. As the league changed over the years from the 7FL to the 8FL to the GFL in 2009, the Lynx has achieved a high level of success with the semi-pro football league every step of the way. The Lynx were thought of as just a team from the Northern Suburbs, not a team that could play football, but have been a respected team since day one. A 5th year member of the Gridiron Football League, the Lake Shore Lynx are the reigning 2008, 2009, & 2010 GFL Champions. The not-for-profit organization was found and established in 2007 by Bryan McDermott and Mike Johnson, and have a combined record from the first four seasons of 42-6-1.


In the inaugural 2007 campaign, despite personnel problems and an ever-growing roster of walk-on players, the Lynx put together one of the strongest teams in the 7FL. After a decent 6-3 regular season campaign, the Lynx qualified for the 7FL playoffs with the fourth seed. Despite the lower seeding, the Lynx fought their way to the championship game. Unfortunately, they fell just short of their goal losing the championship and finishing with a 7-4 record.

Between 2007 and 2008, the Lynx had a flurry of offseason acquisitions. One of the biggest problems in the first season was a lack of younger talent. In the newly-christened 8FL, that was no longer a problem. With the new talent, the Lynx became a powerhouse in the semi-pro league. Thanks to a potent offense and a vice-like defense, the Lynx outscored opponents 163-18 in their first five games with an overall advantage of 338-95. The Lake Shore squad rode their wave of success all the way to the playoffs with an undefeated 10-0 regular season record. In the playoffs, it was a similar story as the Lynx defeated all comers for a perfect 12-0 gridiron campaign and the 8FL league championship. The Lynx dominated the Racine Heat from start to finish never giving them a chance in the Championship Game.

2009 showed the GFL growing and getting stronger, as during the year a 20 game Lynx winning streak was broken. The Lynx outscored their opponents 466-98 during the 2009 season, once again proving they were the best team in the GFL, not only offensively, but defensively. The Lynx struggled on offense in a couple games, but still won the GFL Championship for the 2nd year in a row. The 2nd Championship game had yet another challenger, this time the rival Lake County Cowboys lost 35-20.

The 2010 season brought a new challenge to the Lynx, adding 15 new players, losing a large core of veterans, and still trying to maintain dominance in the GFL. There was certainly a chink in the armour of the back to back champs early in the year as the Lynx struggled to replace some veteran defensive players, as well as some key offensive players. Starting out 1-1-1, they never looked back finishing the season with a scoring advantage of 410-175. Defensively, the Lynx had more talent than in years past, but it took time to gel. The Lynx met the Fox Valley Premier in the GFL Championship, and outscored them 52-19, capping their third title in as many years.


(Updated: May 5th, 2012)

Coaching Staff:
[table "13" not found /]


Lake Shore Lynx

Owner Team Owned; Kevin Heerdegen, President
Team Colors Orange & Black
Conference National Conference
GFL Championships 4
Home Field Butler Lake
Team Website www.lakeshorelynx.com
Phone Number 224-636-6048
Email info@lakeshorelynx.com